Summer is over

September, already? That was quick! Summer is just a distant memory as the days are getting shorter and the mornings are getting colder. Yet I still dream of being on holiday. In August I spent two weeks in Sardinia, Italy. I was lucky enough to spend the whole time on my girlfriend’s families sailboat. The northern area of Sardegna is probably by far the nicest and a day trip to Corsica isn’t too far fetched as it is really close. There are other small islands nearby, one of them being famous for being the birthplace of General Garibaldi, who fought to unify Italy back in the 19th century.

IMG_20160813_201202.jpg

It wasn’t the first time and trust me there are complications when you live on a boat, even just for two weeks. I am by no means short, and waking up and hitting your head isn’t the most pleasant of things. But the fact you wake up already immersed in an amazing landscape with almost nothing around you is worth a few knocks on the head.

DSC_6151.JPG

We spent some time docked in the port and had a chance to visit some pretty awesome beaches. No need to go to the Caribbean to see crystal clear water. And the rest of the time we were out, sailing. I am no expert sailor but sailing and being there for ‘the ride’ is so much fun.

IMG_20160813_180803.jpg

IMG_20160808_182857.jpg

I decided to document my holiday by creating a nice short video, it was basically my first ever proper attempt at this type of video, and I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. There is also some amazing drone footage I was lucky to capture. Man the DJI Phantom is an amazing piece of tech! The rest of my footage was captured either on my Nikon d3200 or my OnePlus 2.

Let me know what you think by leaving a comment. I would like to get into video more and more to support my photography’s learning process so watch this space as more is likely to come!

Leave a Reply

